Mooyah: Burgers, Fries, Shakes

IMG_1537

First off, I love the name, and its both strange and yet exciting ring.  Recently, I visited the location for this burger joint over in Matthews with my mom, neither of us having heard of it, and both left happy.  For some reason when my family goes to restaurants this isn’t the usual result, someone having a plate that just wasn’t quite on point, but in this case both of us enjoyed our meals.

Locations: Matthews, North Carolina

So, based on where you’re at this restaurant is located in nineteen states with the majority of stores being in Texas, and there are also locations in Mexico, Bahrain, etc. we just somehow had never heard of it before seeing it.  The only location in North Carolina though is in Matthews, which is a little sad considering how good it was.

Address:

2233 Matthews Township Pkwy

Suite C-2

Matthews, NC 28105

Hours:

 

Sun-Thurs: 11 am – 9 pm,

Fri-Sat: 11 am-10 pm

Menu

  • Burgers
  • Fries
  • Shakes

Oh, wait, that’s exactly what they marketed, but it sums up their offerings pretty well.  The majority of their focus is on burgers, having a build your own burger option, fries that taste like Five Guys, and thick creamy  milkshakes.  So, that brings us to the sad fact that this may not be as friendly a place for your vegetarian friends, even though they do have salads (literally two options; side salad, or Loaded House Salad), and if you aren’t into burgers your only other options are on the kid’s menu, but this restaurant knows what it’s good at, and I can get behind that, because it is amazing.

IMG_1535

Pricing:

The price range is roughly what you’d expect from a burger joint, unless you’re planning on Five Guys, which likes to get expensive, but oh the fries.  Good news?  These fries taste almost identical to that of Five Guys, Not So Good news? It’s about the same price.  The average burger is around $5, and the fries? for a small order its around $2-3.  The milkshakes (I got a little moo) edge up to around $4.  So, this isn’t McDonald’s pricing, but the burgers are decent, their sanitation score is also a perfect 100, which this is my first time seeing that (anyone else seen a 100?).

IMG_1536

Pictured: The Little Moo (with an incredibly fat straw, that might have taken a minute to get used to), but yum!

Overall Rating for Mooyah?

I’m going to rate this at a 4 out of 5.  Maybe it was the fact that I was with my mom and having a good time, but this was a great lunch, it wasn’t crowded, and all the ingredients tasted fresh.  The french fries also hit that craving I’ve had for a while, so I left really happy, and with my little moo milkshake, which I kind of love the name.  If you’re out in the Weddington/Matthews area this might be another choice in comparison to other choices such as McAllister’s or Subway, which we seem to have quite a few of.  Definitely mixes in another choice for future dinner/lunch outings for my family!

Leave a comment